Indigenous Tribal Groups (Katutubo)

The Tagalog word for 'tribe' is tribo. A native is katutubo.

There are about ten groups in the Cordillera Mountains on the island of Luzon. These tribes were referred to in general by Tagalog speakers as Igorot, meaning 'of the mountains.'


Ifugao  - built the rice terraces; Ifugao Province
Kalinga - Kalinga-Apayao Province
Bontoc - Mountain Province and Kalinga-Apayao Province
Kankanay - Benguet Province
Ibaloi - Benguet Province
Tinguian (Itneg) - Abra Province
Isneg (related to Itneg but distinct) - Kalinga-Apayao Province
Gaddang - Kalinga-Apayao Province and Isabela Province
Ilongot - Nueva Vizcaya Province
Negritos - scattered in the mountains of Luzon


Mangyan - on Mindoro Island


Manobo - Bukidnon Province and Agusan del Sur Province
Bukidon - Bukidnon Province
Tboli - Cotabato Province