flag, banner

watawat ng Pilipinas
Philippine flag

Pambansang Araw ng Watawat, sa ika-28 ng Mayo

National Flag Day, celebrated on May 28

Larawan ng Watawat ng PilipinasDescription of the Filipino National Flag:

Two equal horizontal bands of blue (top; representing peace and justice) and red (representing courage). A white equilateral triangle based on the hoist side represents equality. The center of the triangle displays a yellow sun with eight primary rays, each representing one of the first eight provinces that sought independence from Spain. Each corner of the triangle contains a small, yellow, five-pointed star representing the three major geographical divisions of the country: Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao.

The design of the Philippine flag dates to 1897. In wartime the flag is flown upside down with the red band at the top.

Panunumpa ng Katapatan sa Watawat ng Pilipinas
Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the Philippines

The official design and use of the Philippine national flag is in the Flag and Heraldic Code of the Philippines, Republic Act No. 8491. The flag shall be displayed in private residences or raised in the open on flagstaffs in front of said buildings every April 9 (Araw ng Kagitingan); May 1 (Labor Day); May 28 (National Flag Day) to June 12 (Independence Day); last Sunday of August (National Heroes Day); November 30 (Bonifacio Day); and December 30 (Rizal Day).

Another Tagalog word for 'flag' is bandila, from the Spanish bandera.